Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

The Pleasure Garden (1925) -- Alfred Hitchclub

I finally had time to watch it and I know Kyle already has, wasn't sure if I should make a thread out of it but fuck it, I did. If you did too, discuss!

I have no experience with the silent era, I plan to watch Metropolis and The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari very soon, so it was interesting to see how much film making has changed. I'd always figured that silent films would try to limit how often the actors talk, but fuck me, this film had a lot of talking with very little dialogue. I wonder what the actors were actually saying to each other during takes, because the dialogue stills were so brief that it couldn't have been what they said on film.

Also, Jill was a bizarrely unimportant character, despite how much importance the first half of the story gave to her.

Also also, there were so many noticable cuts in the middle of shots, I have to wonder what went wrong during filming (or possibly editing), or perhaps they just cut pauses shorter because of a technologically imposed restriction on the runtime.

Comments

• here's my realtime thoughts again:

Pleasure Garden notes:

4:02 -- shot highlights purse and darkens everything else. Is this what an establishing shot in 1925 was? I don't know why we need this when it's clear what happens a few seconds later without it

4:40 -- dude behind counter looks like Mr. Feeny

5:40 -- I can't tell these ladies apart from each other. That's probably bad

6:25 -- yo that dog is dead

8:11 -- I'm pretty sure ladies don't immediately change in front of each other minutes after their first interaction. This seems like dumb pervy guy stuff.

9:30 -- they don't sleep in the same bed either

10:11 -- what kind of an asshole sits on a wicker trunk?

11:15 -- dudes smoking seconds after "smoking prohibited" sign shown

12:02 -- "I'll show you some real hot steps!"